Roy Hodgson names provisional 26-man squad for Euro 2016.

Roy Hodgson names provisional 26-man squad for Euro 2016.


England manager, Roy Hodgson has  named an initial 26-man squad for the Euro 2016 tournament in France, which starts on 10 June.

Plenty of youth named in Hodgon’s team as Manchester United’s 18-year-old striker Marcus Rashford makes the provisional squad alongside Tottenham’s Dele Alli and Newcastle United winger Andros Townsend who despite being relegated to the Championship with Newcastle, finished the season on a high.

Title winners Jamie Vardy and Danny Drinkwater have been named as well.

Download our Edition

Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere also makes the squad but teammate Theo Walcott has been left out.


Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Fraser Forster (Southampton), Tom Heaton (Burnley).

Defenders: Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ross Barkley (Everton), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Andros Townsend (Newcastle United), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Strikers: Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United).

Download our Edition

The Spark is a youth empowerment platform in Nigeria that projects the average Nigerian youth doing something, anything positive. Our mission is to reach out to as many youths, “EMPOWER and ENGAGE!!!