David Mark declared winner of Benue South rerun


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared former Senate President, David Mark, of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, as the winner of the rerun election in Benue South Senatorial District.

Senator David Mark defeated former student union leader and candidate of the All Progressives Congress to secure a fifth term in the Senateby polling a total of 84,192 votes as against Daniel Onjeh of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who pollled 71,621 votes.

Announcing the results on Sunday morning, the Returning Officer, Prof. Ishaku Eneji, declared Mark winner stating that Senator Mark met all the requirements during the conduct of the poll, having majority of the total votes cast. However, the APC agent has contested the validity of the result declared.

The results from each local government:

Ado LGA: APC – 6370 PDP – 6513

Agatu LGA: APC – 3458 PDP – 7986

Apa LGA: APC – 4943 PDP – 9191

Obi LGA: APC – 8585 PDP – 7043

Ohimini LGA: APC – 6192 PDP – 5923

Okpokwu LGA: APC – 6830 PDP – 11935

Otukpo LGA: APC – 12203 PDP – 18468

Oju LGA: APC – 14159 PDP – 10289

Ogbadibo LGA: APC – 8882 PDP – 6844

Download our Edition

The Spark is a youth empowerment platform in Nigeria that projects the average Nigerian youth doing something, anything positive. Our mission is to reach out to as many youths, “EMPOWER and ENGAGE!!!