AFN releases 35-member list for Rio Olympics

AFN releases 35-member list for Rio Olympics


The Athletics Federation of Nigeria, AFN, has released a list of 35 athletes to represent the country in the upcoming Rio 2016 Olympic Games. The athletes were selected after the All Nigeria Championships/Olympic Trials in Sapele, Delta State last week.

The likes of Blessing Okagbare and Seye Ogunlewe are the standout names on the 35-member list selected by the AFN. Both athletes finished as the fastest athletes in the women and man categories at the recently concluded national trials.

The full list of athletes released by the AFN


Blessing Okagbare

Madu Jennifer

Gloria Asumnu

Uko Peace

Osazuwa Agnes

Sanni Zainab

Francis Cecilia

Khadijat Suleman

Ekpone Olivia.

George Patience Okon

Bamgbose Margaret

Omotoso Omolara Grace

George Regina

Ajayi Yinka

Ossai Rita Vivian

Mayungbe Blessing

Sogbesan Ekundayo.

Oluwatobiloba Amusan (100m Huddles)

Amaka Ogoegbunam (400m Hurdles)

Doreen Amata (High Jump)

Brume Ese (Long Jump)

Okoro Chinwe (Discus)

Nwanneka Okwelogu (Shot Put)

Uhunoma Osazuwa (Heptathlon)



Seye Ogunlewe (100m)

Egwero Ogho-Oghene 100m)

Monzavous Edward (100)

Odele Oghenetega (200m)

Oduduru Divine (200m)

Orukpe Eraiyokan (400m)

Anthon Hicks (110m Hurdles)

Ukaoma Miles (400m Hurdles)

Oke Tosin (Triple Jump)

Olamigoke Olumide

Mozia Stephen (Shot Put)



Download our Edition

The Spark is a youth empowerment platform in Nigeria that projects the average Nigerian youth doing something, anything positive. Our mission is to reach out to as many youths, “EMPOWER and ENGAGE!!!